
GENERAL INFORMATION

A.   FILING PERIOD AND DUE DATES: A monthly return is due
on or before the 20th of each month following the reporting peri-
od. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the
return is due on the next business day. To avoid a delinquency
notice, a return must be filed even if no sales were made or no
sales or use tax is due.

B. FORMS: A booklet with all the necessary forms and instructions
is mailed to each registered taxpayer. Taxpayers are responsible for
filing and paying on time whether or not the forms are received.

C.   PAYMENTS: Make checks or money orders payable to the D.C.
Treasurerand mail your payment with monthly sales and use tax
returns to the Government of the District of Columbia, P.O. Box
679, Ben Franklin Station, Washington, D.C. 20044-0679.
Payments may be made in person at any branch of the First Union
Bank located in the District.  Please write your Federal  Employer
Identification Number, FR-800M and the tax year on your payment.

D.   CHARGE FOR DISHONORED CHECKS: There is a charge
of $50 for each dishonored check issued to the District of
Columbia.

E. EXEMPT AND NONTAXABLE SALES: The following are
examples of exempt and, therefore, nontaxable sales:
(a)  Sales to the United States or the Government of the District

of Columbia or any instrumentalities thereof.
(b) Sales to semipublic institutions having a D.C. Certificate of

Exemption (FR-551).
(c) Sales to a purchaser that furnished you with a D.C. Certificate

of Resale (FR-368)
or

(d) Sales delivered to a purchaser outside the District of
Columbia.

NOTE: Charitable organizations must collect sales tax from the
purchasers of items sold and remit the tax as indicated in item C.

F. RULES FOR REPORTING SALES AND GROSS
RECEIPTS: Report cash, credit or charge sales, including condi-
tional sales, for the month in which the sale occurred, even if a
portion of the sale price has not been collected. Do not deduct
from taxable sales the refunds you issued for previously reported
sales (see information under Overpayment of Sales or Use Tax) or
sales of property that was subsequently repossessed. You may
deduct uncollectable balances of accounts (bad debts).
Subsequent collections of bad debts must be reported in full in the
period in which they are collected. Expenses incurred in collect-
ing bad debts are not deductible. (See Title 9 of the D.C Municipal
Regulations.)
NOTE: Title 9 of the D.C. Municipal Regulations may be pur-
chased from the Office of Documents, 441 Fourth St., N.W., Suite
520-S, Washington, D.C. 20001.

G. CRIMINAL PENALTIES: Any person required to file a return
or report, or perform any act under the provisions of the Sales and
Use Tax Act who:
(a) Fails or neglects to file the return or report or perform such

act within the time required shall, upon conviction thereof,
be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned  for not more
than six months, or both, for each and every failure or
neglect.

(b) Willfully fails or refuses to file the return or report or per-
form such act within the time required shall, upon conviction
thereof, be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not
more than one year, or both.

These penalties are in addition to penalties for false statements
under D.C. Code §22-2514 and any other penalties provided in
the Sales and Use Tax Act. Corporate officers may be held per-
sonally liable for the payment of taxes owed if the payment is not
remitted to the District.

H. PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES:
(a)  There is a penalty of 5 percent per month imposed for the fail-

ure to file a return or pay any tax due on time. The penalty is
computed on the unpaid tax for each month, or fraction of a
month, that the return is not filed or the tax is not paid. The
penalty is not to exceed 25 percent of the tax due.

(b)  There is a 20 percent penalty on any understatement of taxes
due if the understatement exceeds either 10 percent of the tax
determined to be due or $2,000, whichever is the greater. An
understatement of taxes is the difference between the amount
shown on the original or amended return and the amount of
tax determined to be due as a result of an audit or review.

(c)  Interest of 1.5 percent per month, or portion of a month, will
be assessed on a late return or late payment, without regard to
any extension.

I. USE TAX REPORTING: You are required to report the cost of
all personal property and taxable services used or consumed by
you within the District for which sales tax has not been paid to any
state. This includes the cost of items purchased under a Certificate
of Resale or withdrawn from stock for personal use or for use in
the conduct of your business.

J. OVERPAYMENT OF SALES OR USE TAX: An overpayment
of sales or use tax for a prior year should not be taken as a credit
on the tax return of a subsequent period. To receive a refund of the
overpayment, you must file a Claim for Refund of Sales and Use
Tax, Form FR-331. If additional information is needed, please call
(202) 727-4TAX (4829).

K. CREDIT FOR COLLECTION EXPENSES: A taxpayer who
timely files a return and pays the tax due in full may take a credit
on Line 11, Column C, against the sales tax due.  (The purpose of
the credit is to reduce the taxpayer’s cost of collecting and remit-
ting the sales tax.) The credit is equal to the lesser of 1 percent of
the sales tax due or $5,000.

RETURN INSTRUCTIONS

NOTE: Lines 1-4 are for reporting use tax.
LINE 1, COL. B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT of all items or
services used by you in the District for the month being reported for
which you have not previously paid sales tax to any state. Multiply the
amount by the tax rate shown in Col. A and enter the result on Line 1,
Col. C.
LINE 2, COL. B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT OF alcoholic bev-
erages used by you in the District for the month being reported for
which you have not previously paid sales tax to any state. Multiply the
amount by the tax rate shown in Col. A and enter the result on Line 2,
Col. C.
LINE 3, COL. B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT of all food and
drink used or consumed in the District, or rentals of motor vehicles or
utility trailers (except those registered for commercial purposes) for
the month being reported for which you have not previously paid sales
tax to any state. Multiply the amount by the tax rate shown in Col. A
and enter the result on Line 3, Col. C.
LINE 4. TOTAL USE TAX: Add Lines 1, 2, and 3 of Col. C and
enter the result on Line 4, Col. C.
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RETURN INSTRUCTIONS CON’T

Line 5-10 are for reporting sales tax.
LINE 5, COLUMN B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT of sales for
the month being reported for the following:

(a)  Sales of tangible personal property delivered in the District of
Columbia.

(b)  Rentals or leases of tangible personal property, except rentals
or leases of non-commercial vehicles.

(c)  Sales of newspapers and publications.
(d)  Sales of food or drink sold through vending machines and

sales of snack food.
(e)  Sales of the following services: real property maintenance;

landscaping; employment; personnel placement; data pro-
cessing; information; production, fabrication or printing;
repairs or alterations of tangible personal property; copying,
photocopying, duplicating, or mailing; delivery; and launder-
ing, dry cleaning, or pressing; except if the service is per-
formed by coin-operated equipment.

(f)  Sales of stationary two-way radio services, telegraph serv-
ices, teletypewriter services, teleconferencing services,
“900”, “976”, “915”, and other “900” type telecommunica-
tion services, telephone answering services, and coin-operat-
ed telephone services. Sales of these services are exempt from
sales tax if charges to the end-user are subject to District of
Columbia gross receipts or the toll telecommunication tax.

(g)  Admissions to certain public events.
(h)  Sales of local telephone service, gas, oil and electricity for

commercial use.
(i)   Sales of solid fuel or steam.
Multiply the amount of sales by the tax rate shown in Col. A and
enter the result on Line 5, Col. C.
For detailed information refer to the “General Information-Sales
and Use Taxes” pamphlet (FR-379).

LINE 6, COLUMN B:  Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT of sales for
the month being reported for alcoholic beverages sold for con-
sumption off the premises. Multiply the amount by the tax rate
shown on Col. A and enter the result on Line 6, Col. C.

LINE 7, COLUMN B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT of sales for
the month being reported for the following:
(a)  All sales of food or drink served or prepared for immediate

consumption or sold in or by restaurants, lunch counters,
cafeterias, hotels, caterers, boarding houses, carry-out shops
and other similar places of business. This includes food or
drink in a heated state, cold drinks dispensed on a self-serv-

ice basis into a container; and frozen yogurt, ice cream, ice
milk or sherbet sold in quantities of less than one pint.

(b)  Rental of motor vehicles and utility trailers, except those reg-
istered for commercial purposes.

(c)  Sales of alcoholic beverages sold for consumption on the
premises.

(d)  Sales of prepaid telephone calling cards.
Multiply the amount of sales by the tax rate shown in Col. A and enter
the result on Line 7, Col. C.
LINE 8, COLUMN B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT for the
month being reported for charges for the service of parking, storing or
keeping motor vehicles or trailers. Multiply the amount by the tax rate
in Col. A and enter the result on Line 8, Col. C. 
LINE 9, COLUMN B: Enter the TAXABLE AMOUNT for the
month being reported for charges for rooms, lodgings or accommoda-
tions furnished to transients. Multiply the amount by the tax rate in
Col. A and enter the result on Line 9, Col. C.
LINE 10, COLUMN B: Add all entries on Lines 5 through 9 of
Column B and enter as the TOTAL TAXABLE SALES.
LINE 10, COLUMN C: Add all entries on Lines 5 through 9 of
Column C and enter as the TOTAL SALES TAX.
LINE 11, COLUMN B: Enter your TOTAL EXEMPT SALES for the
month being reported.
LINE 11, COLUMN C: Credit for timely-filed and fully-paid
return is no longer allowed due to the Tax Clarity Act of 2001.
LINE 12, COLUMN B: Add Lines 10 and 11 of Column B, and enter
the result as the TOTAL SALES.
LINE 12, COLUMN C: Add Lines 4 (TOTAL USE TAX) and 10
(TOTAL SALES TAX) of Column C, enter the result, this is the TAX
DUE.
LINE 13, COLUMN C: Enter any penalty due. The penalty is 5 per-
cent per month for failure to file a return or pay any tax due on time.
Compute the penalty on the unpaid tax for each month, or fraction of
a month, that the return is not filed or the tax is not fully paid. The
penalty shall not exceed 25 percent of the tax due.
LINE 14, COLUMN C: Enter any interest due. Interest of 1.5 percent
per month, or portion of a month, must be paid on any tax that remains
unpaid after the due date of the return, without regard to any extension
of time to file.
LINE 15, COLUMN C: Add Lines 12, 13, and 14 of Column C, and
enter the result, this is the TOTAL AMOUNT DUE.

NOTE: Sales tax must be charged and collected on the actual selling
price.

NOTE: You must enter your Federal Employer Identification Number on the Return.

Each return must be signed and properly completed.

IMPORTANT
Make checks or money order payable to the D.C. TREASURER. To mail your return, use the labels in the back of this
booklet or mail to: Government of the District of Columbia, P.O. Box 679, Ben Franklin Station, Washington, D.C.
20044-0679. Write your Federal Employer Identification Number, tax type (sales and use) and tax period on the face of
your payment.

Payments also may be made in person at any D.C. branch of the First Union Bank.

SUBSTITUTE RETURNS AND FORMS MUST BE APPROVED EACH
YEAR BY THE OFFICE OF TAX AND REVENUE.



 
 

  

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

  

 

Make no entry here. The Tax Clarity Act of 2001 eliminated the credit for
timely filed, fully paid returns.
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